Preserving Memories!

It’s coming to that part of the year when I usually go through and backup all of my work. It is typically second nature for me to do this when I edit work, but sometimes I get too excited or tired and just want to get things done so this is the perfect time to go through all of this years work and back it up on an external or cloud storage, so here are some tips to help you.

Cloud Storage

There are several online services out there that you can use to access your files anywhere. I personally use DropBox because I have multiple devices and like to be able to access my work anywhere.

Other companies such as Google, Apple and even Amazon have services as well depending on what your preference is.

External Hard Drives

I also like to backup my work onto External drives. I am currently using a Seagate 2TB that I can just slip into my laptop bag or camera backpack and take it with me wherever I need it.  Amazon is currently selling it for $79.99

Having multiple back ups is a life saving idea, because honestly anything can happen. Whether it is your external decides to die or is stolen or you lose the login to your cloud storage, you are going to want to have a backup plan

Prints

You can always save some of your favorite photos as prints. No this won’t save your raw images and the color tends to fade over time. But it is always nice to see your work in print form, even if it just for yourself.

Organization

This is also a great time of year to go through and organize your files. Whether you need to rename or add keywords to help you find projects, we all have files that tend to get out of whack and it’s a good habit to get into.

I would love to hear your tips on anything backing up your work please email, comment below, or shoot me a private message on Facebook. I know it can be a dreaded all day task, but it is worth it in the end to have your stuff secure.

Audrey❤

Leave a Reply

