Tips for Vacation Photography!

The holiday season is coming quickly which means we are going to be traveling more this time of year. Whether you enjoy taking your family on a vacation for the holidays or you come home, you want to be able to capture the perfect vacation photos. So this week I thought I would give you some tips on how to save those memories.

A Good Camera Bag41sjc8XMFGL.jpg

The number one thing I can tell you is to invest in a good quality camera bag. Taking good photos means lots of photo equipment so you are going to want a bag that you can depend on to carry all of it.  I always suggest doing your own research on what is going to work best for you but my favorite bag that I own is my USA Gear Camera Backpack. There is a ton of space, I can carry two DSLR cameras, three lenses, my laptop and cords, all of my cleaning supplies and extra storage SD cards.

Extra Storage

Speaking of extra storage SD cards, the worst thing to happen is when you are out with the family and you have a beautiful shot set up and all of a sudden your camera flashes CARD FULL!! It is the worst! So just remember, always remember your extra cards.

Wide View

Taking in the sights and wanting to capture the breathtaking views that you will want to remember. This means that you will want to pack your wide angle lens. A good 10-22mm is a great place to start if you don’t already have one. My go to tends to be my 18-55mm kit lens.

If you aren’t able to bring a wide angle lens, you can always shoot panoramic sequences and piece them together in Adobe Photoshop later.

Seattle Panorama_Dec27.jpg

Family

Don’t forget that you are on vacation with your family! It is easy to get sidetracked when you are somewhere new and exciting, but remember that you will want the memories of your family as well. Capturing the events and emotions of your vacation is through the faces of your family.

Details

Even if you don’t go anywhere fantastic like Disneyworld for the holidays, you can always capture the little details at your family dinner. Take photos of the food, the table, the decorations. Get up close and personal and make it interesting! _MG_0089.jpg

Be Creative

I always say this in my tip posts, but get creative. Use creative poses and angles. If you visit new places, resist the urge to just throw your family in front and take a picture. Never be afraid to be silly. And if it doesn’t work, you can always try again 🙂

What are your tips for vacation photograph? I would love to hear from you, Please email, comment below, or shoot me a private message on Facebook.

Audrey❤

Leave a Reply

