A Favorite Photo-Shoot!

This week I thought I would share with you one of my favorite projects that I did last year. And it all started with a sketch.

 

In my senior year in college I took a Portfolio class where we had to come up with three projects to display the skills that we had learned during the course of our college career. It was great, I got to do whatever I wanted and wasn’t under someone else’s thumb. However, this project in particular was my favorite. I started by doing research on Bath and Body works as well as other beauty/bath supply stores. I studied their style of branding, what was working for them and what wasn’t and went from there. I sketched tons of thumbnails to get the setup correct, I did a moodboard, went shopping for the products and figured out the type of lighting. The image above is what the shoot setup ended up looking like. I used two AlienBee strobe lights, one with a reflector and one with a snoot. The front strobe light was used to light up all of the products. The snoot was used to create a spotlight behind the products. I also have set up a dark gray seamless paper
backdrop. And from there, there photography just developed itself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And this is what the final project looked like.
All pretty simple and added to the Bath and Body Works Moonlight Path Products.

Thanks for tuning in this week. I hope you enjoyed the post and that you come back next week! If there is any questions or comments that you may have, please email me or comment below!

Audrey

 

Leave a Reply

