Prep Work!

Welcome back everyone! I hope you had a wonderful week and are as excited as I am so excited for this weeks blog! This week we are going to talk about what I do after I have been hired by a client!

When I am contacted by a client, either by phone or email, we discuss prices and payments, possible locations, and what they are looking for from me, the photographer. When I am hired for a photo-shoot, the week before I spend my spare time looking at my photography inspiration on Pinterest.com. I do a lot of research on how photographers pose their models and learning what kind of poses work best for different people really helps me take successful photos. The next thing I do is research locations. As I said before, it is important for me to find locations that will 1) work best for the client and 2) help reflect and capture the essence of the client. I think backgrounds are really important in a photo. Sometimes a plain brick wall will work for a client, such as a senior photo, but it wouldn’t work for engagement photos like a beach or park would.

Shooting a wedding is a little different. When you are working with a couple, it is best you meet with them in person before the big day. I will set up a meeting and discuss with them what they want captured on their big day; such as inspiration or ideas that they have come up with, as well as prices, payments and specials, and location. Like individual portraits, I research the venue that that the couple has chosen for their big day as well as inspiration from other photographers. My research usually includes things such as going over tutorials, looking at things that are common things that couples look for, such as photos of the cake, the rings, the first dance and of these things what does the couple want. You want the couple to be involved as much as possible; I have found that if you create a checklist for them that you can together come up with the shots they want for their big day.

©AudreyElisabethPhotography
When you are shooting in studio you need to know how to set up lights and which lights to use, for example if you are shooting a noir piece with Cucoloris- which is a device used for casting shadows or silhouettes to produce patterns. To do a proper Cucoloris, you will need hot lights rather than strobes. Hot lights with create a stronger contrast with darker shadows and brighter highlights. It is also important to know the different options for lights whether you will need a soft-box or beauty dish or just a reflector with a grid, each will give a different lighting effect and will need to be thought about when setting up for a portrait. It is also important to know how to use a light meter, reflector, backgrounds and seamless paper, and how to pose your model. The image to the left, is an example of a Cucoloris that I did last year. I would not have been able to pull off this shoot successfully if it wasn’t from the inspiration I pulled from 1940s movies.

I hope you enjoyed and learned something from this post. If you have any suggestions that you would like to read, please comment below! I hope you all have a wonderful week!

Audrey 

 

One thought on “Prep Work!

Leave a Reply

